I am a legal scholar and cognitive scientist, focusing on empirical and behavioral analysis of constitutional and public law, with a particular interest in conflicts of rights and the interaction between law and religion and law and social norms. 

I received my LL.B. in Law and B.A. in Cognitive Science from the Hebrew University (Valedictorian and three-time recipient of the Albert Einstein and Rector awards).  I then clerked for the Chief Justice of the Israeli Supreme Court, Hon. Dorit Beinish, and pursued doctoral studies at Harvard, graduating in 2016.

Currently, I am a Professor of Law at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, a member of the Federmann Center for the Study of Rationality, and the Academic Director of the Center for the Study of Multiculturalism and Diversity at the Hebrew University. During 2020-2022 I am also a Nootbaar Religious Freedom Fellow at Pepperdine University School of Law.

I am grateful for the support of grants from the Israel Science Foundation, Israeli Democracy Institute, Barak Center for Interdisciplinary Legal Research, Cherrick Center for the Study of Zionism, the Minerva Center for Human Rights, the Sinclair Kennedy Fellowship, Harvard Program on Negotiation’s Next Generation Grant and Harvard’s Interfaculty Initiative on Mind, Brain, and Behavior, among others.

Research Awards include the Heshin Award for Academic Excellence in Law by a Young Scholar, the Gorni Prize for an Outstanding Junior Scholar in Public Law, the Birk Prize for Excellence in Legal Research, the Howard Raiffa Best Paper Award, the Fisher-Sander Best Paper Award, the Menachem Goldberg Best Paper Award, and Stanford’s International Junior Faculty Forum.

Interested in finding out more about my research? Check out the “Media and public writing” section for interviews, media coverage, and public writing.

Hebrew speakers can also listen to this podcast episode, where I explain about a new approach I am developing for legal research: Empirical Constitutional Law.

לחצו כאן על מנת להגיע לאתר בעברית באתר הפקולטה למשפטים באוניברסיטה העברית.